The five stages of grief this Nats season

After the loss on Monday, this post is very relevant.

Half Street Heart Attack

I finally reached the fifth stage of grief watching the Nationals play the Pirates on Wednesday.

The fifth stage is one of acceptance for the 2013 version of the Nats.  Lets face it, most people started the season with the team in the playoffs competing for the World Series.  The problem with expectations like that is there is no room for surprise but disappointment and despair have a pending reservation.  Watching a contender as a fan is very different than watching a plucky upstart.  Last season was a season or wonderment “Wow, Have you seen their record, best team in baseball”.  This year is all about what the team hasn’t or didn’t do.  Lets look at the progress of the team through the stages of grief:

Denial:  This was sayings from the team like “It’s still early” or “There is too much talent on this team”

Anger:  This was the…

View original post 118 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s